Amazon Prime Canada Review – Is It Worth it?

In the wake of “Prime Day” we thought we’d take a look at Amazon Prime Canada in 2016.  If you scroll down you can see our original review of Amazon Prime when it first came to Canada.  Unfortunately, not a whole lot has changed – making Prime a tough value proposition at $79 for Canadians when we can only lick our chops when looking at what our southern neighbours get for the price tag of $99.  Students get a special deal for $39 (that I’m still currently enjoying as I finish my Master’s degree on a part-time basis).

**Quick update – As of December 2016, Amazon Prime officially includes video – thus changing the value proposition considerably.  We’ll be revisiting our initial assessment in a few months once we see how this all shakes out!**

980903_us_home_shower2_468x60

The Good...

Amazon Prime continues to do one thing really well in Canada – deliver goods relatively quickly for free.  If you place a premium on goods arriving fast, then this alone might be make a Prime Membership worth it for you.  But when you consider that Amazon orders nearly always include free shipping if you’re willing to wait for standard delivery, then you’re really just paying for speed here.  One-day shipping options are also offered starting at $3.99.

Amazon-Prime-1

Since its inception, Amazon Prime has added its Amazon photos feature to membership benefits.  Essentially this is a large amount of cloud storage that you can use to save photos and short videos.  It’s very comparable to a service such as Dropbox.  Overall, a nice perk, but not exactly a game-changer given the other options available within the space.

If you’re a real deal-seeker, a Canadian Prime membership also offers a little bonus for you as members get access to Lightning Deals 30 minutes before everyone else.  These deals tend to cluster around big days such as Black Friday and Amazon Prime Day.  Personally I find searching for these deals way too time intensive, but that’s just me.

After two years of huge build up to Amazon Prime Day I have been pretty disappointed.  Now I should quickly add that I continue to be a very satisfied customer of Amazon overall, it’s just that Amazon Prime Day seems to be more of an exercise in cleaning out old inventory (some folks have even used the term “garage sale”) than actual deals on in-demand products.  I suppose this is only reasonable when you consider how thin Amazon’s margins are to begin with, but all the same, I wouldn’t let access to this “Big Sale” be the difference when it comes to signing up for a Prime Membership or not.

The Bad...

Because of Canada’s low population density we still have problems getting US-level shipping commitments – even in urban centres.  Canada’s Amazon offerings also leave something to be desired (although it should be noted, still a massive leap ahead of where we were ten years ago).  This is NOT to say that anything that Amazon does in a vacuum is objectively “bad”.  I mean, we’re talking about an innovator that has put price pressures on the entire retail world and also allows me to rarely ever step foot in big box stores or shopping malls.  Because of that, Amazon will always have a special place in my heart.  The problem when it comes to the Amazon Prime experience is that we aren’t judging it relative to a retail vacuum.  Instead, we’re directly comparing it to what Amazon Prime looks like in the USA…

Amazon-Prime-2-2

Here’s a brief outline of what Americans get as part of their Amazon Prime memberships:

  • Everything we Canucks get.
  • Free same-day delivery in certain urban zip codes.
  • Prime Now: Free two-hour delivery on certain items in certain zip codes.
  • Restaurant delivery as part of Prime Now.
  • Prime Video: basically Amazon’s free version of Netflix.  While most reviewers have the service as second to Amazon, it does include exclusive original programming such as “Transparent” and “Alpha House”.  It also gives you access to original Amazon movies such as Adam Sandler’s new projects.
  • Prime Music: Amazon describes it as “unlimited, ad-free access to hundreds of Prime Playlists and more than a million songs.”  Basically it’s like a free Spotify, but with many less songs.
  • A bunch of other cool stuff like Kindle First, Amazon Family, and exclusive video game savings.

To summarize: for an extra $20 US Amazon Prime Members get a second-rate Spotify, a second-rate Netflix, same-day delivery (how the hell is two-hour delivery a thing?!), and restaurant delivery – plus a few other bonuses. 

Amazon-Prime-3

What an unbelievable deal!  How do you not have Prime if you live in the States?  If they were able to offer similar packages in Canada (and why not?  It’s all streamed?) I’d pay at least $200 for that value.  Sadly, at this point we’re stuck with the little brother deal.  Hopefully Amazon is able to up the ante sooner rather than later.  In the meantime, I’ll continue on my Amazon Prime Student deal and enjoy the meagre benefits, but I’m still not sure that $79 for the current package is a good value for most Canadian consumers.

The original 2014 review….

Amazon Prime Canada Review – 2014

Man, was I excited when Amazon Prime Canada popped a few weeks ago when I was surfing through my favorite internet stomping grounds.  You see, I’m a confessed Amazon addict.  Growing up I always thought I hated shopping.  It turns out I just hate stores, malls, bad service, terrible comparison capability, and other people, NOT shopping itself.  I love scanning through the deals on Amazon, seeing what “it” recommends to me, and the ease with which the whole process is facilitated.  The only downside is waiting a week or two for my products to arrive since I always opt for the “Free Super-Saver Shipping” because I am way too cheap to pay a bunch of money extra for the quicker shipping speeds.  Consequently, I have been jealous of my American friends who for $79 a year got access to free two-day shipping from Amazon, in addition to a library of free eBooks AND free streaming of a wide selection of TV and movies.

Two Day Shipping… Sort Of

Because I am so jealous of this feature, I almost signed up for the new Amazon Prime Canada without even thinking about it.  I order between 10-20 packages a year from the company, so the two-day shipping was a sweet deal, not to mention everything else.  Then I realized… oh wait, there is no “everything else” and the two-day shipping isn’t really two-day shipping for me…  See, it turns out that Amazon can’t guarantee that ultra-fast shipping time to many of Canada’s rural post codes.  I understand why that it is – Canada’s low-density rural areas just don’t have the infrastructure that virtually all of the USA enjoys – it still just takes some of the shine off of the apple for me.  To Amazon’s credit, instead of the two-day shipping guarantee, they state they will give free standard shipping instead to those rural areas.  However, for most items the difference between standard shipping and the free “Super-Saver” shipping is only a few days, and being that pretty much all of my purchases already qualify for that free shipping, it’s not a huge advantage.

The online conglomerate also mentions that extremely discounted 1-day shipping for “as low as $3.99” is also available through the new offer.  It should also be noted that when I clicked through to the one-month trial offer and tried to order a video game, it responded by saying that the item was not eligible for Amazon Prime.  I have no idea which items qualify and which don’t, but it’s obviously something to take into consideration.

Amazon Prime Canada

Live Streaming and eBooks...

On the subject of content in addition to the shipping benefits, Amazon Prime.ca trails its American brethren miserably.  Nowhere that I could find is it mentioned that free eBooks or live streaming of anything is in the works.  This was a huge let down.  The free books and access to the Amazon library alone made the $79 worth it to many Americans that I know.  Since we’re paying the same price here in Canada, I think it is logical to assume we should get access to the same online resources.  Oh well, little brother just isn’t as big and strong as older brother is!

To answer the original question of, “Is Amazon Prime Canada Worth It?” I’d have to think that for most people the answer is “no”.  If you order more than twenty packages a year and place a premium worth more than $79 on that increased speed, and you live in an urban centre. Then you are probably in the minority that Amazon Prime Canada works out well for.  For the rest of us, until the corporate giant sweetens the pot a little bit, I recommend passing over the opportunity and spending the $79 on some cheap reading material.

75 Comments

  1. Shilpi Roy on January 23, 2013 at 3:17 am

    Two day shipping free is like a jackpot for any seller as well as buyer. I am too addicted to Amazon. Its an online store which I love to explore.



  2. Megan on January 23, 2013 at 8:10 am

    What a shame that they don’t provide the same services to Canadians – there really ought to be some difference in the price if the service is so much less. The problem with being a smaller market – it crops up again and again. Annoying if understandable.



  3. CF on January 23, 2013 at 9:08 am

    When I read the title I was so excited! I order from amazon sporadically But the streaming content is what I want. Disappointing that it’s not available in Canada.



  4. Teacher Man on January 23, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    I know! I’m an Amazon geek too, and was sad that we only get part of the service. Oh well, maybe in a couple of years or so.



  5. Teacher Man on January 23, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Ya, I don’t want to trash Amazon too much since I am addicted and love the accountability they have at that place. It’s just not quite as good a deal as in the States.



  6. Rob on January 24, 2013 at 5:15 am

    I love Amazon (I live in Spain so I have access to all of Amazon Europe and prices vary enough to justify the effort. But I do order from Amazon.ca once on a while and what I don’t understand why CDN products carry a 100% or more premium on the same thing ordered from the US. if you plan it carefully I would order everything to your Hotel when your in the states



  7. Teacher Man on January 24, 2013 at 8:17 am

    There are actually some businesses all along the border in Canada that will allow you to ship to them and then pick up your package for a small fee per-item Rob. I myself have family close to the border, so that isn’t a big deal, but I know a lot of people that make liberal use of these businesses.



  8. BeachBoy on January 25, 2013 at 8:26 am

    I order over $5k a year on amazon.com (probably closer to $10k this year with baby on the way) and even shipping to the US, price is not worth it.
    1- do you REALLY need 2 day shipping?
    2- MANY items are not “prime” so you don’t get the fast shipping anyway… I order everything online from furniture to dog toys…
    3- Prime in the US could be worth it if you watch their movies, rent their books, etc.. but for me, as being part time US (every weekend), I can’t enjoy their streaming in Canada.. so it’s not really useful.

    So if Prime is not even that useful in the US, I don’t see it being useful in Canada for now.



  9. Teacher Man on January 25, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    This is pretty much what I came to as well BB. IF you want to pay for the luxury of 2-day shipping it’s fine, but just realize it’s not really a frugal decision in terms of value. Ten Thou a year on Amazon eh? Do you use their specific credit card then?



  10. BeachBoy on January 30, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Yes I have a US Amazon rewards card.. 3x point son amazon purchases and a nice $3k limit. Plus it’s a true US credit card.



  11. Michael Black on February 2, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Another disadvantage for Canadian Amazon customers is the narrow selection of merchandise offered in Canada. For instance, if I resided in the states, I’d be regularly ordering many small food items that qualify for free Prime shipping. (Think Grocery Gateway with free delivery.) But as a Canadian, I only order about once a month from Canuck Amazon. $79 a year for NO streamed movies and NO e-books is a rip-off.



  12. Saving Money by Shopping Online? on April 16, 2014 at 9:12 am

    […] Related:



  13. Karen on December 17, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    There is a bonus to Amazon.ca Prime – the 30 day free trial. I just ordered two books to give as Christmas gifts. If I didn’t sign up for the Prime free trial, I would have been subject to a $7 shipping cost and the items would arrive by Dec 23. Now the shipping is free and they will arrive on Dec 19. If I see anything else I want to order, I’ll do so before my trial is up. Then I can cancel without any further obligation.

    Should Amazon beef up the Prime service for Canada later on, I will take a closer look at the benefits.



  14. Mackenna on December 25, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    I signed up for the free trial because the promotional said I would get free two-day shipping on a purchase but when I paid, Amazon told me “this item doesn’t qualify for prime shipping”. Way to turn me off as a customer.

    I cancelled immediately because I also learned they would automatically take nearly $80 off my credit card unless I advised them I didn’t want to continue. The company should ask customers if they want to enroll past the free trial, not auto-enroll them.

    In conclusion, I cancelled when I learned a) Amazon arbitrarily excludes items and there’s no indication of what qualifies and b) Amazon’s fee for this “service” which appears to be arbitrary is nearly $80 a year. It has scam written all over it. Just a way Amazon can make a load of free cash for little effort.



  15. Kyle on December 26, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    Many items that aren’t Amazon original or books don’t qualify Mackenna, especially in Canada. The fee is arbitrary in the same way all fees are arbitrarily set at whatever the market will bear… Also it’s only $40 for the student one, so that’s a pretty decent deal. For me, it has saved that much on shipping charges already.



  16. Jovy on January 18, 2015 at 12:24 am

    I’m an Amazon Prime member and I’ve noticed that all my items started arriving 1-5 days late since 2 months ago. What’s puzzling is that, when I use the 1-day $3.99, the items arrive on time! Once I ordered two different items, one using the 2-day free delivery since I’m a Prime member and the other one I paid and additional $3.99 for since I really needed it badly. The 1-day delivery item arrived on time but the 2-day delivery item was late for 2 days and Amazon was citing “courier problem” as the cause… if there is a carrier problem, then why did the other item arrive on time? Could this be a scam to make us pay more?



  17. Kyle on January 18, 2015 at 11:13 pm

    Could be Jovy. It could also just have something to do with the different levels of shipping urgency. I know that I get my stuff pretty quick considering the rural area I live in.



  18. Darryl on February 18, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    I order frequently from Amazon.ca and love the 2 day delivery service not to mention 3.99 to get it your order in 1 day.
    Prime Rocks!



  19. al regehr on April 27, 2015 at 2:00 pm

    I was not aware of prime until I notice an email from them advising me I was enrolled, free for a month, & if I did not decline the offer in tho month. Amazon was going to start deducting $ 79/year from my credit card. What if I was away, in hospital, etc ?
    I suppose in the fine print they have written in the right to invade my credit card at their will and whim.
    This is no way to do proper business in my mind. My former trust has been betrayed. I retracted their right to access to my credit card and refuse to participate with a business with those kinds of ethics.
    Very disappointing, as it was going o well until they showed their colors.



  20. Kyle on April 30, 2015 at 9:08 am

    Al, when you sign up it pretty clearly states you will automatically be dinged for the cost when the free trial is over. Are you saying you didn’t sign up for Prime at all? Because if that’s the case I have to believe it was an unintentional hiccup. They would take a lot of flack for just blatantly charging people without any consent right?



  21. CJOttawa on May 6, 2015 at 11:25 am

    If Amazon.ca had half the products carried by Amazon.com, Prime might make sense. Further, the prices for many products on Amazon.ca are so completely out of line that it makes more sense to just order through Amazon.com. (micro-fiber towel: $4 on Amazon.com, $14 on Amazon.ca)



  22. Kyle on May 7, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    This has been frustrating for me as well CJ. Fortunately I have family in the Northern USA, so when we go see them in the summers I always have a big Amazon order shipped there!



  23. noj dranab on July 10, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    “Free two day shipping” via UPS has now become 3 or 4 day shipping via Canada Post. Unless Amazon.ca goes back to using UPS, and actually giving their Prime customers 2 day shipping, I will not be renewing my membership when it comes due. As Canadians, we don’t get ad free music streaming. We don’t get free kindle ebook rentals, and we don’t get unlimited instant videos. American customers get all these things and more. Now it appears they are cheaping out on shipping too. If I do cancel my Prime membership, I will start looking locally for merchants. I’m getting a bit tired of being screwed by Amazon because I’m a Canadian!!! If you really want to get angry, have a look at the prices on Amazon.com for the same product they sell on Amazon.ca. Sometimes the same item is almost double the price on the Canadian website!



  24. Kyle on July 10, 2015 at 5:05 pm

    I’ve noticed this as well Noj. Because I live in a rural area if often takes 4 days to get to me. I think Amazon is starting to come to grips with the fact it has never actually turned a profit… Not good for us as consumers that have been enjoying the ride so far!



  25. Brian on July 21, 2015 at 11:36 am

    On Prime Day, I signed up for Amazon Prime and couldn’t believe how little there really is in the way of benefits for $79. The Subscribe and Save 20% is pretty cool, but there’s not a lot of stuff my family needs on a regular basis since we cloth diaper and stock up whenever items are on sale.

    I live in Niagara Falls, so it’s not a rural area, and generally items arrive within two to three days of me ordering so Prime isn’t really worthwhile.



  26. Kyle on July 22, 2015 at 10:11 am

    If we were to get the same streaming options as they do in the States, would that change your thoughts Brian?



  27. siram on July 30, 2015 at 10:04 am

    The amazon.ca card is issued by Chase bank and does not charge a fee for foreign exchange. Further, you get a $20 amazon credit for every $1000 spent at amazon.ca (not sure if it applies to all amazon globally). That is a 1% discount on amazon purchases. I use the amazon.ca card everywhere outside of Canada and in any country to avoid exchange rate fees. Just be careful if paypal is involved because they nail you for 2.9% exchange fee even with the amazon.ca card. FYI



  28. Kyle on August 1, 2015 at 7:57 am

    Hey Siram, we’re big fans of the card, but you’re slightly off on the $20 per $1,000. It’s actually 2% discount on all Amazon purchases. Cheers.



  29. Richard on August 24, 2015 at 8:28 pm

    Am I missing something? I don’t see a date anywhere on this post? Was this 2015? I see the copyright for the site at the bottom of the page, but that doesn’t mean this post was then? Has Prime changed for Canada since this post?



  30. Kyle on August 25, 2015 at 9:17 am

    I don’t think it has changed much Richard. It was written about a year ago.



  31. Annette on September 20, 2015 at 11:56 am

    I’ve been an Amazon Prime member for about two years and as an occasional shopper there’s no way it’s worth it. The streaming and accessibility to music is the last straw…I mean, if Apple / iTunes can get us poor, backwoods Canadians access to music, tv show and movies, then why can’t Amazon? I stayed a member because I thought they’d eventually come through, but that hasn’t happened. I’ll be cancelling my Prime membership.



  32. Kyle on September 20, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    Love the “poor, backwoods Canadians” Annette! I keep hoping tbh… I order enough that Prime probably equals out for me at present, but I too was hoping for more.



  33. Kristina on March 27, 2016 at 7:14 am

    I shop on the US site mostly. The prices on the Canadian site are insane! But I don’t deter easily so I just hunt for the same product on the US site and I almost always find one that ships to Canada. I wish the prime membership would work on both sites though. On the plus a lot of the items from the US site seem to inc free 2 day shipping anyways, to Canada, in a very rural area to boot. 🙂



  34. Kyle on March 28, 2016 at 8:30 am

    Good point Kristina! As a fellow rural person I definitely see your point. Maybe we all one day dream of a day when American Prime members and Canadian Prime members can stand side by side in equality!



  35. Shanon on April 6, 2016 at 11:59 am

    I think what Amazon.ca should do beings it’s not enough to just have a few things for Amazon Prime they should maybe add to Prime Members a 15-20% off any items that Amazon offers that discount should be all the time for members not a one time deal and keep the “Free Two Day Shipping” to it’s members and scrap the rest of what they offer. That to me would be more worth it and I’m sure it would be to most people that shop a lot on the site.



  36. Kyle on April 6, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    That would make me pretty happy Shanon!



  37. ALeigh on April 20, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    This is the first and last time I order textbooks on student amazon. I paid for prime shipping and placed an order for almost $400 worth of books. Next day waited around for the order and nothing showed up after calling them and speaking to an extremely rude supervisor named Berna I found out they cancelled my order for suspected fraud because it was my first time ordering and the large amount of the order, but I was never notified. Now after reinstating my account and replacing the same order I paid for express shipping again and still have not received my package. Its now been a week, 7 phone calls, and two emails and still no package. There wasn’t even an explanation as to why I wasn’t contacted when my account was suspected fraudulent, the supervisor only offered me a $10 credit which wouldn’t even cover shipping cost, and I’ve still yet to get any reply from my emails that I’ve sent. Its tempting cause their cheap but do yourselves a favor students and don’t get your textbooks through amazon. The amount of time wasted and the frustration of dealing with there customer service staff isn’t worth the trouble. Now I’m massively behind on my studies and still have NOT received my textbooks.



  38. Pablo on April 22, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    Well, I just dont get the whole ‘unlimited photo storage’. When i try to get amazon drive, im only given the option for a 3 month trial or pay a whole year. You would think that ‘unlimited photo storage’ means free cloud storage.



  39. Kyle on April 22, 2016 at 5:35 pm

    Did you try contacting them for an explanation Pablo? I’m curious as well.



  40. Former Primer on April 24, 2016 at 12:36 am

    I was a Prime member in 2015. I live in a large Canadian city but my postal code is officially rural.

    Prime deliveries went from 2 days to 4 at some point in the year. That makes Prime worthless.

    As an experiment, I placed the same order with 2 accounts, one with Prime, one with free shipping. Prime arrived a day after the super saver shipping.



  41. Kyle on April 24, 2016 at 10:57 am

    That is really sad FP… Makes me re-think this whole “prime” terminology.



  42. Canucky on June 11, 2016 at 10:04 am

    At least Prime members get 25% off of many Amazon Basics products. That’s one way of directly recouping part of the cost.



  43. Kyle on June 13, 2016 at 1:33 pm

    Good point Canucky. For me the positives still outweigh the negatives, but I am envious of my American friends!



  44. Gavin on July 26, 2016 at 10:27 am

    I agree that the lack of features such as the ebook library and music service is a big disappointment, but I am sure it is only a matter of time before it is in Canada.

    The 2 day shipping is not what got me to sign up for amazon prime, although it’s a big bonus, it was the amount money and time it ultimately saves me.

    I recently became a father to my first child, and naturally being a frugal person, I was interested in how I could save on diaper costs. I compared grocery store prices to wallmart, and wallmart to costco. I then checked amazon and found that I could save the most money when I used their subscription service paired with amazon prime.

    Diapers are typically around $25 for an 88 pack in store. My daughter can poop her way through 12 diapers a day, resulting in roughly 360 diapers a month! That would cost me $100 if I were to buy in store. With amazon prime I save 20% on diapers when I subscribe. I pay $18.38 per 88 pack (4 packs/month x $18.38 = $73.52) and it’s shipped to my house every month without having to worry about it. I save roughly $25 bucks a month and I avoid driving to a costco or wallmart where I would risk my sanity. The savings will quickly take care of the $79 yearly fee, and you will save even more on many other purchases you make.

    For me amazon prime is a no brainer, but if I was childless I would avoid it and wait the extra couple days for my package or wait for the additional features to reach Canada.



  45. BeachBoy on September 11, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    The only reason I have Prime is for the diapers deals… It’s worth it.
    But otherwise I would not pay for it in Canada.



  46. Michael Black on September 12, 2016 at 10:22 am

    I’ve always had a suspicion that the real purpose of Amazon Prime is to serve as a lead-up to the eventual elimination of the longstanding benefit which gives all customers free shipping if their order exceeds $25. Should this perk no longer be available to regular Amazon.ca customers like me



  47. Kate on September 12, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    I have the student version of Amazon prime as well thanks to my part-time post-grad program, but I’ve been having second thoughts about whether even that discounted cost is worth it for all the reasons you’ve listed here. The textbook discount is helpful, but for the amount of times I use it, I’m feeling like the $39 is still better off in my pocket.



  48. RomilDh on September 13, 2016 at 11:19 am

    You know where Amazon Prime is really worth it? In the Canadian Arctic. The Canadian government has struggled for decades in trying to figure out how to get goods to the North in an affordable and reliant manner. Along comes Amazon North and suddenly those living in places such as Iqaluit, Nunavut have access to the amazing world of online goods for $99 / a year versus the thousands it costs to get any other way (on a yearly basis).



  49. Kyle on September 15, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    Now that is a post all on its own Romil!! I never even considered the North (and I’m a rural Canadian – used to being the one forgotten about!). So Amazon honours their commitment even in Iqaluit? There’s something to say for the free market hey?



  50. Gavin on September 15, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    If you subscribe to 5 items a month you save an additional 15% off your entire order. This really helps with lowering the grocery bill and it’s fairly easy to find 5 things that you consume on a monthly basis. I subscribe to diapers(20% off original price), protein powder, 2 packs of spaghetti noodles, toilet paper, and soap. There are other things I subscribe to but they are on a bi-monthly and quarterly schedule.

    Before I subscribed to any of this stuff I went to the grocery store to verify that it was worth the cost, and it definitely is. Go to the store and take pictures of items that you use on a regular basis and then compare them to amazon. I save roughly $50 a month.



  51. Kyle on September 16, 2016 at 8:55 am

    That’s a great way to maximize savings Gavin. I think long-term we might even see Amazon Fresh come up to Canada and do a “Chef’s Plate” type of thing as well. My one friend said the only complaint he had about the diapers was that he constantly had to change the size of the automatic order. Great tip – thanks for dropping by!



  52. Art on September 18, 2016 at 10:32 am

    I prefer to let a family member pay for Prime and then have them order my items for me! #frugal



  53. ben on October 2, 2016 at 10:05 am

    One thing I noticed that hasn’t been mentioned is that you get 20% off when you pre-order any games once a prime member. (even up to 2 weeks after release!)

    I have been wanting to sign up for prime as well but the deal isn’t worth it to me either. I want those streaming options.

    On top of that I have a gripe. Compare the prices of things on amazon.com vs amazon.ca. There is a HUGE difference.

    For example, look up : CARBONATER CAP sold by “CARBONATER” on both sites… $13.86 on the .com site, but it’s $50.54 on the .ca site.

    I have seen this happen time and time again. that’s not an exchange rate issue. That’s us getting ripped off!



  54. Kyle on October 3, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    You’re preaching to the choir on this one ben! I completely agree. Part of that is the difference in purchasing power between the CAD and USD, but even when we were at par you saw this. When our currencies were even I was mailing stuff to my American family members all of the time.



  55. JB on October 8, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    I just canceled my Prime account after a THIRD order failed to arrive on time. My whole reason for signing up was to get faster delivery, but Dynamex has dropped the ball just too many times. Don’t bother.



  56. Rod on October 27, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    Prime in Canada now offers a whopping 20% off of new video games- that’s a big deal!



  57. Kyle on October 28, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    This is a pretty good deal Rod. Especially if you have a couple of people on a Christmas list you can buy games for!



  58. Joy Whitehouse on October 29, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    I just got a bill from Amazonca Prime Member & it look it might be a membership. I didn’t sign up for a membership & I want to know how to get a refund.



  59. Kyle on October 31, 2016 at 9:06 am

    You should be able to log into your account and fill out a support ticket Joy. Amazon has been pretty good the couple times I’ve contacted support.



  60. Kevin on November 16, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    I live in a small town, so there are many items I cannot buy locally. Driving costs 50 cent a km (ask Revenue Canada). Instead of driving 100 kms and wasting my time, I order from Amazon with either 2 day or sometimes 1 day shipping. I often need things quickly, and even 2 or 3 items shipped 2nd day will cost more than an annual subscription. I think I save 20x the cost of the Prime membership in shipping every year, not to mention I no longer drive nearly as much. I wanted an all aluminum snow shovel, and nothing but plastic was available locally. For 3.99 I was clearing my driveway the next morning.



  61. Craig McAllister on November 17, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    I just recently purchased Prime and if you are diligent it will pay for itself. Someone mentioned video games at 20% off on pre-orders. Games are $80 now so if you buy 5 a year it’s paid for. Amazon Basics brand is 20% off. I recently bought paper and cables for my office and saved $10. Also anytime an order is late call customer service and complain. My first order was late. It was due by 9pm and didn’t arrive until noon the next day. I called to complain and they resent the entire order ($120 value) for free and it arrived at 8am the following day. It was all things I will use also. I didn’t ask for the free order either, they just offered.
    My next order was also a day late and they extended my annual subscription an extra month. If you call their customer service is really good at making sure you are happy.
    Big news though is I read today (Nov 17th) that Prime Video service is coming to Canada in the new year. So maybe Prime is worth it.



  62. Craig on November 17, 2016 at 6:18 pm

    Amazon video service is now coming to Canada soon! We will have to wait and see how it is, but it might definitely make it worth the subscription.



  63. Kyle on November 19, 2016 at 10:19 am

    That would certainly make a better value proposition Craig. Let’s hope we get the US package ASAP!



  64. Kyle on November 19, 2016 at 10:32 am

    I’m in the same boat Kevin. It definitely has a premium for us rural folks!



  65. Anna on November 28, 2016 at 9:00 am

    Not worth it for me. I did a Student Prime trial, and towards the end they couldn’t meet their 2 Day commitment for shipping. When I complained, they would give me a $5 credit – but there was no way to apply the credit, and it didn’t auto-apply to purchases. When I asked about receiving a free month of Prime as compensation (as others I know have received), I was told that wasn’t an option for Student Prime. And the final straw was when I did pay to renew, and they tacked on a miscellaneous fee – not a tax, and they couldn’t explain what the random few extra bucks were. Really soured my impression.



  66. Kevin on December 1, 2016 at 9:30 pm

    When you compare those to Japanese Amazon Prime…
    Jp: everything US gets + half price



  67. Kyle on December 2, 2016 at 3:16 pm

    Really? I had no idea! Is that just due to population density Kevin?



  68. Dan on December 18, 2016 at 2:42 am

    Prime has failed to deliver on its fast delivery every single time. Until about a month before I subscribed to Prime (Canada) I would often get, NOT two-day “shipping” but, two-day “delivery”! But then deliveries started taking longer. I’m thinking Amazon is trying to encourage people to get Prime – which doesn’t really work as advertised. We can’t forget that we’re at the mercy of Canada Post!!



  69. Ljiljana on December 24, 2016 at 9:30 am

    I am amazon.ca prime memeber …as of 2017 I will not be prime memeber any more
    amazo.ca prime membership is a scam.. I had never received parcels within 2 days as they had guarantied
    very often never got my parcel even after posting on the amazo.ca that was delivered and I’m not scarem like others to post it



  70. Dirk G on December 30, 2016 at 6:39 pm

    Amazon prime in Canada does now have Prime Video included. Not a lot of content but I really like the Original Series like “the Grand Tour” and “The man in the High Castle”
    They do seem to be adding more Shows regularly and I am enjoying the prime membership.



  71. Glenda Tigchelaar on January 3, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    Please cancel my AmazonprimeMembership as I live in Canada and use Amazon.ca as much as possible. I had $106.92 taken from my bank acct on Dec7 . How did that come about??



  72. Kyle on January 4, 2017 at 1:06 pm

    Glenda – I can’t cancel your account – you’ll have to contact Amazon.com for that. What I assume happened is that you signed up for a free trial but put in your bank account or credit card.



  73. Anne on January 27, 2017 at 1:05 pm

    Got Canadian prime a couple of months ago and it is truly disappointing. There might be a few hundred titles at best. It doesn’t even include all of their original programming. There’s only ten titles there. Don’t get prime because of their video selection.



  74. Kyle on January 29, 2017 at 4:53 pm

    I agree that their video selection is no Netflix Anne – but it definitely does add some value to the overall package does it not?



  75. Shanon on April 13, 2017 at 3:38 pm

    It’s not worth it. It would be worth it alone if you get 10%-15% off of purchases so EX: Say you spend $500.00 you would be saving between $50.00-$75.00 pretty much that pays for the cost of the membership at 15% anything over that you would be saving money in a year. That alone without the other garbage would be worth it. But no real savings is not really worth it.
    Not all shoppers would be getting Prime if they don’t do a lot of shopping but the ones that do a lot of shopping would. On the business side of it, it would make sense for Amazon to do that to encourage more spending. But Netflix and other crappy offers encourages no extra spending for purchases through the site. People already have Netflix at home why would a person need another one or a site similar.



  76. Dean Erb on September 4, 2017 at 12:57 pm

    Amazon prime in Canada is worth it to me. Subscribe and save on everyday use items saving me 15% on those items and they are the cheapest on Amazon than anywhere else local. Also 20% off a box diapers!? Yes please! 100″motorized projector screen $200 shipped? Unheard of. I’m thoroughly enjoying my prime subscription. I think we should stop comparing and just look at the benefits of our offerings.



Leave a Comment





63 Shares
Pin17
Tweet9
Share26
Share
Email
+111