President’s Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard Review

Yes, I have done it again!  Signed up for another credit card.  This time, we had careful consideration because we needed a joint credit card.  Initially we were thinking of signing up for one of the Scotiabank credit cards that offered the first year free, but it's a bit of a hassle to cancel a credit card and find one that has a supplementary card without a supplementary card fee AND without an annual fee.

So we decided to try the President's Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard, since we do a lot of shopping at No Frill's and Shopper's Drug Mart.  Basically Loblaws and the Weston family are taking over the grocery world.  Most of our joint expenses will be related to buying groceries too, so it would be nice to get a break from grocery expenses.

Initially I signed up for a PC Plus card thinking it would be the easiest way to free groceries, but I had collected zero points because I had no idea that you needed to “load offers” since I declined all emails from PC Points.  Since then I have tried loading points, but it would be nice if they have some “base points” that they can give you without having to load for points.  My thoughts are that they are watching you and trying to give you carrots/ give you points for continuing with your pattern of grocery store purchases.  At least, that's what it seems like when I get ‘offers' on my Shopper's Optimum Points card nowadays since Loblaws took over Shoppers Drug Mart.

I have a MBNA World Elite MasterCard and have been happy with it so far, so think I will like this one.

Features of the President's Choice Financial World Elite MaterCard

  • Presidents Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard Review

    No annual fee- Ahhh music to my ears!

  • You need a minimum personal income of $70K or a household income of $120K to qualify for this card, you know, because it's an “Elitist” card lol.
  • 30 PC Points per $1 spent at Superstore/ Loblaws/ Shoppers Drug Mar/t No Frills etc. (works out to be 3% return)
  • $0.03/ litre bonus in PC Points at Esso gas stations (another one that I usually frequent, even though I'm a HSE Husky shareholder!)
  • 10 PC Points per $1 spent elsewhere (works out to be a 1% return)
  • To redeem your points, you need at least 20,000 PC Points in your account, then when you're at the cash register, you just tell the cashier you want to use X number of points, with the minimum at 20,000 PC Points, or $20 off your grocery bill.  Yes, it seems that easy! Though I personally have never used PC Points as I never had collected enough.
  • 4 Free Supplementary Cards (often supplementary cards cost an additional $50 annually so this is pretty awesome)
  • Theft, Loss, or Damage insurance when you buy something on your card for the first 90 days
  • Extended Warranty- for an additional year.  Free!
  • Interest rate is 19.97% but there is a promotional rate of 0.97% for 6 months

President's Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard Pros

Some of the positives to the President's Choice card are well, free groceries!  And ease of use!  And being accepted at many places that we frequently shop at (such as No Frills).  And no annual fee (this is probably the biggest pro) for a card of this ‘calibre'.

President's Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard Cons

There aren't many cons to the President's Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard, however, if you prefer to have free travel rewards instead of free groceries, then this is not the card for you.  If you want to save up for a trip to Venice but instead you get $40 off your grocery bill, you might have some discord of what your credit card rewards should be.  The other con is that if you don't shop at Presidents Choice family of stores, then the reward value is just 1% which is pretty average.

The Verdict?

Well, other than the sleek design of the card (looks very fancy because it's sleek and black), it's been great so far! I can't wait to combine it with my PC Points and claim dollars off our first grocery store bill.

Readers, do you have the President's Choice Financial World Elite MasterCard?  What do you think about it?  Yay or Nay?  Like the free groceries?

11 Comments

  1. skube on September 28, 2016 at 9:55 am

    I tried to sign-up for the PCF World Elite MC and even though they said my minimum income qualified they said my minimum annual spending did not.



  2. Kyle on September 28, 2016 at 11:27 am

    That’s weird. To be honest, I might try just stretching the truth a little. Do you maybe have a significant other that you could order a second card for in order to up the spending?



  3. Mike Erik on September 28, 2016 at 6:50 pm

    U definitely want to load your offers and shop selectively. Between the offers and 3% from the card, I often end up getting a total value of over 10% in points from my purchases. At No Frills, you can price match also!

    Not advertised openl, but you also get 3% in points when you use the card at T&T Asian Supermarkets (which is also owned by Loblaw)



  4. Sarah on September 29, 2016 at 10:06 am

    This has been a worth while card for me and use it for all my purchases. Easy to load your offers on their app and get your points balance. If you book travel through PC travel you get additional points as well. It’s a great card.



  5. Sal on September 30, 2016 at 9:50 am

    I’ve had the PC world elite MC since around April, and I love it! I do just about all my grocery shopping at No Frills, and I walk to work, so I only fill gas once in a while at the Gas Bar at RCSS. I also pay for almost everything with the card, so I rack up points quickly! If I don’t want money off groceries, I can get money off clothes from Joe Fresh (at Loblaws) or gift cards for other places (not just as gifts for other people! I’ve bought Google Play Store gift cards for myself for music/apps).



  6. Simon on October 2, 2016 at 11:52 am

    We have been using the Elite master card from PC for the last year or so, and have been pleased with it. One other point is if you use it to buy gas at a PC gas bar you get 7 cents back per litre towards free groceries. We have found it to be a significant way to save money by putting all our purchases on the card and getting points for free food. Just make sure to pay the balance in full every month.



  7. Leonie on October 3, 2016 at 1:10 am

    I have the PC etlite card. Need to link it to the PC points card and you wll get extra points to buy the stuff you regularly buy.
    Also the 7 cents a litre off at gas bar when combined with the PC plus card
    Buy the workplace lotto at Shoppers.
    The only con I find is the $20 redemption and multiples of $10 thereafter.
    I use this card in conbination with the free Tangerine Mastercard. 2% back in 3 catagories that you select and can change. Obviusly not supermarket. My selections are periodic bills like cell bill, restaurants and gas, ( Gas bars are not always convenient). Change it to hardware when you are going to make a big purchase. Furnace/ hot water tank/ renovation
    I do all my 1% transactions on Tangerine as I can redeem the whole cash back every month and not only multiples of $20



  8. Joseph Soucy on October 14, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    Sure would be interested in your defense of the statement “George Weston & Loblaws are taking over the grocery world” It would seem to me that Walmart(you know that U.S. company),,is pushing hard??



  9. Kyle on October 14, 2016 at 10:12 pm

    That’s a valid point Joseph, I guess we just meant in terms of the all the acquisitions over the past couple of decades in the Canadian market.



  10. Kyle on October 14, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Heck, now that I think about, I believe you could make the argument Amazon is a major threat as well.



  11. Leonie on January 17, 2017 at 4:29 pm

    Kyle, Very diappointed, that such a money whiz, is not getting the most out of a generous rewards card.

    If you click on this weeks offers sent every Thursday, then it is generally 10-20% off items offered. Sometimes it is 50% off softsoap, or something most people use. Or $10 off a $100 minimum grocery bill.

    Ignore the email is ignoring free money

    As they get to know what you buy regularly, then the about 75% of the offers become what you regularly buy.

    So you are getting 20 %percent off your regular grocery costs. Not all the bill, but things that are on offer that week.

    Frustrating thing is that they tend to send you the offer of the item after you buy it. So you buy a kilo of coffee and then they send you an 20% offer to buy that coffee tin the following Thursday.

    If you plan to buy a large amount of something, and it is not on the offers, just buy one, and sure enough it will be there in the next week.

    Regular fruit and veg purchases are always there. Bananas, apples tomatoes, bagged salad etc.10-20% off. well you get points

    Or try to wait for desired regular item to pop up. It will every month or so.

    I buy my work’s coffee supply there. I try to time the $80 purchase to offer week. PC ground coffee is great and cheap

    I buy my Workplace Lotto at Shoppers. They take CC for lotto. (The kiosks in Superstore are independent)

    Pharmacy purchases at No Frills.

    Prescriptions are expensive at Shoppers so check out how much over the odds you are paying to get 3% back.

    Shoppers has great deals on pizzas.

    Combine the points card and Mastercard to get 7 cents a litre back in groceries.

    Especially important if you are writing off your car costs. You pay and claim regular price but get 7c back in groceries.

    Then they start throwing money at you to try the online pick up service. If I had a family, that would be regularly used. Park and they bring the groceries to you

    I make about $30 a month in groceries. I know of other reward card can give $360 a year on a free card, for an average of $1500 a month spent.

    Points can be used as a nest egg. Say if you are saving for Xmas, which can be an expensive time for a family at the grocery store. The points are there to help with an expensive season or occasion.

    I have seen people use it in this manner when they are on fixed incomes. They do not redeem every $20, but save them up. When money is tight, they have free groceries that week/ month

    Its a no brainer, if you shop at at Loblaws business regularly.



Leave a Comment





5 Shares
Pin5
Tweet
Share
Share
Email
+1