TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite* Credit Card Review

Last Updated on

td aeroplan visa infinite

One of many travel rewards cards linked to the Aeroplan Miles loyalty program, the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite provides members with opportunities to earn Miles while taking advantage of card benefits. But is it really as good as it looks on paper? We look at whether it’s truly one of the best rewards credit cards in Canada.

TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite* Card: Overview

Welcome bonus: First year annual fee rebate + earn up to 30,000 Aeroplan Miles (Conditions apply. Must apply online by March 2, 2020)
Annual fee: $120 (waived for first year if you apply online by March 2, 2020)
Recommended credit score: Good to excellent
Income Eligibility:  $60,000 personal or $100,000 household annual income
Rewards: Earn 1 Aeroplan Mile for every $1 in purchases charged to the credit card. | Earn 1.5 Aeroplan miles for every $1 spent on eligible grocery, gas, drugstore and aircanada.com purchases.

*This offer is not available for residents of Quebec. For Quebec residents, please click here.

Learn more about the TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite* Card.

TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite*: The Rewards

With the TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite* card, you get:

  • A welcome bonus of up to 30,000 Aeroplan Miles (Must apply online by March 2, 2020. Conditions apply.)
  • First-year Annual Fee Rebate for Primary Cardholder (Must apply online by March 2, 2020. Conditions apply.)
  • 1.5:$1 spent on gas, grocery, drugstore, and purchases on AirCanada.com
  • 1:$1 spent on all other purchases
  • Earn twice the Miles on purchases made at participating Aeroplan partners and online retailers via the Aeroplan eStore when you pay with your Aeroplan credit card and present your Aeroplan membership card.
  • Your Aeroplan Miles don’t expire as long as you’re a TD Aeroplan Credit Cardholder

Other card details: Purchase APR: 19.99% | Cash Advance APR: 22.99%

The redemption process for the Aeroplan program varies depending on what you are trying to achieve. For merchandise or events tickets, you can simply go to the online Aeroplan eStore, login, and purchase. While there is a broad catalogue to choose from, the store itself feels a little dated. There aren’t the deep descriptions, images, and reviews that are standard now on most eCommerce sites, and the result is a lack of confidence in the product offerings.

If you’re trying to get a flight, however, you’ll have to navigate the program options first. Miles can go towards Fixed Mileage Fight Rewards or Market Fare Flight Rewards, each with its own matrix. The number of Miles required will be further dependent on the season and other options, but the good news is that your Miles apply to all costs—including the taxes, fees, and surcharges. You can redeem online, or call a representative for help.

Pros and Cons of the TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite

Like other Aeroplan cards, the TD® Aeroplan®Visa Infinite* Card offers some decent travel benefits, like a complimentary first checked bag, priority check-in and boarding, and an annual one-time guest pass to the Air Canada Maple Leaf lounge. TD’s travel insurance package is good— up to $1 million of travel medical coverage for the first 21 days for cardholders under 65 years, along with insurance for trip/cancellation, delayed/lost baggage, flight/trip delay, and car rental insurance. Cardholders also get the benefits of Visa Infinite Exclusive Benefits.

The sign-up bonus of up to 30,000 Aeroplan Miles is attractive, working out as equivalent to 2 economy short-haul roundtrip flight rewards. How it works: you get a welcome bonus of 15,000 after you make your first purchase with your card. Then get up to another 15,000 Miles by earning 5 additional Aeroplan Miles on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to a total spend of $1000 per month). New cardholders can take advantage of the first year rebate. To take advantage of this limited-time, online-only offer, you must apply online by March 2, 2020.

All this considered, keep your eye on the Aeroplan program, which is slated to change in 2020.

Other Perks of the TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite*

In addition to the opportunity to earn Aeroplan Miles, cardholders receive:

  • Comprehensive travel insurance package included
  • One complimentary first checked bag when travelling on Aeroplan flight rewards operated by Air Canada
  • Priority check-in and boarding when travelling on Aeroplan flight rewards operated by Air Canada
  • One free guest pass to the Air Canada Maple Leaf lounge annually
  • Preferred rates at Avis Rent-A-Car and Budget Rent-A-Car

The Visa Infinite program offers its members benefits including:

  • 24-hour Visa Infinite Concierge to arrange reservations and help with your to-do list
  • Visa Infinite Luxury hotel experiences
  • Visa Infinite Food and Wine experiences

The Aeroplan Miles Rewards Program: How It Works

The Aeroplan Miles program is a rewards system with a focus on travel with Air Canada, a leading Canadian airline. Aeroplan Miles can be redeemed for travel rewards including flights on Air Canada and their partner airlines, hotel stays, car rentals, and vacation packages. Additionally, there are experiential rewards like events tickets, plus merchandise available through the Aeroplan program. You can also donate your Miles to select charities or transfer them to another member.

Air Canada and its partner airlines operate in over 190 countries worldwide. With Aeroplan Miles Rewards Program, you can travel in different classes—economy to first-class—or with Market Fare Flight rewards you have unrestricted access to any available seat. Round-trip flights start at 15,000 Miles and cost up to 280,000 Miles; one-way trips cost half of that. With the “Around the World” flight option, you have a maximum of five stopovers and one crossing for both the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.

One important caveat to note: the Aeroplan program is being completely overhauled and relaunched in 2020. Right now, we don't know how that will affect the rewards system, so it's food for thought if you're looking to apply for a credit card that's geared at racking up Aeroplan Miles.

The Verdict: Is the TD® Aeroplan®Visa Infinite* Card Worth It?

We’re loving some of the perks of this credit card: the generous welcome bonus, one complimentary checked bag on Air Canada flights, priority check-in and boarding on Air Canada flights, and the free lounge pass are all enticing. Also, the comprehensive travel insurance that doesn’t require you to charge the trip onto the credit card is a big bonus.

We’ve got a few minor concerns about the TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite* Credit Card, like the hefty $120 annual fee or the lack of real deal lounge access. But for the most part, the benefits and earning opportunities are enticing for points collectors. Our advice? If you want to rack up Aeroplan Miles, this is a great credit card option. Still deciding? Check out the other best travel credit cards in Canada, and then decide if the TD® Aeroplan® Visa Infinite* is for you.

The following two tabs change content below.

Keph Senett

Keph Senett is a Canadian freelance writer with an interest in helping people make solid choices towards debt-free living. Her work has appeared in publications including Al Jazeera America, Greedy Rates, BBC News, and The Globe & Mail.

11 Comments

  1. BeachBoy on February 18, 2015 at 9:55 am

    I have it (transfer from CIBC) and I love it. Its my only card and I happily pay the $120 per year for it (had it for like 10 years)



  2. Ray on February 22, 2015 at 1:32 pm

    I was looking at the Scotia Infinite Visa which I think is the best cash back rewards card offering 4% back on gas and groceries. The problem is that the places where I do my grocery shopping in the GTA (No Frills does not accept VISA and Walmart supercentre is not considered a ‘grocery’ store even though they are now a major player in the Canadian grocery scene).

    Does anyone know how can one get the benefit of the Scotia 4% cash back while grocery shopping at either of these stores.

    Thanks,

    Ray



  3. Valerie on March 17, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    I signed up for it last year, and got the fee waived. I accumulated a good number of points. Still undecided if I’m going to keep it this year if I have to pay the fee. I’m wondering if there is any hope of getting it waived again.

    I will say that the travel insurance is good. I made a claim when a flight (that I had paid for on my TD Visa) was cancelled and I was re-booked onto a flight the next day. The insurance covered my hotel and meals for the night.



  4. Kyle on March 17, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    Good to know Valerie. Thanks for the comment.



  5. Dav on May 25, 2016 at 4:37 pm

    Just a note that some banks (TD and BMO) waive the annual fee of their credit cards if you have a “no interest” chequing account. The monthly fee on these chequing accounts is also waived if you maintain a minimum balance in the account (normally 5K).



  6. john allen on November 30, 2016 at 12:39 pm

    I have no problem with the card, i have a problem with Areoplan, to get the flights you want you have to book months in advance. This year i try to book 9 weeks in advance for a trip to England I could not get a flight using Aeroplan so i had to pay to fly with another airline. i am now booking a flight to the states but have to use Air Canada rouge which is a piece of shite if i want to use aeroplan miles. i have black status because i use my card so much, but after this trip i am going to cancel my credit card and go with a different card supplier, why pay $120.00 a year for a card that does nothing for you.



  7. John on June 27, 2018 at 6:30 am

    Had the card for years and like it because I use the benefits like insurance and aeroplan miles. The fee is worth it, IF you use the benefits.



  8. BK on March 3, 2019 at 2:59 pm

    If you rely on TD Aeroplan VISA’s travel insurance for your next trip, DON’T. I made a trip cancellation trip a few weeks ago because of a medical emergency. Allianz (TD’s medical insurance insurer) denied my claim because I purchased my trip using a discount coupon. Allianz explained to me that if a trip is purchased on a discounted price, you do not qualify for travel insurance. A full non-discounted price of the trip must be paid with TD VISA in order to get coverage.



  9. Jenny on April 5, 2019 at 7:48 pm

    do supplemental cards also get the one time annual maple leaf lounge access if traveling on aeroplan reward flight?



  10. Lisa Jackson on April 9, 2019 at 9:15 am

    Hi Jenny, as far as we know, it applies to the cardholder only. But this is a good question to ask when you sign up.



  11. Rick on June 25, 2019 at 7:15 am

    Just want to point out that the two perks below are only applicable if you are travelling on an award ticket (i.e. one purchased with Aeroplan miles):
    One complimentary first checked bag on Air Canada flights
    Priority check-in and boarding on Air Canada flights



Leave a Comment





> >